Awards Presentation & Community Celebration

2022 Annual Awards Presentation & Dance Community Celebration 


Chicago Dance Lovers, 

We are thrilled to announce See Chicago Dance’s 2022 Community Celebration and Awards Presentation.

On Tuesday, October 11, we will gather with 250 dance friends and artists to celebrate our dynamic community and honor two very special people, as we do every year.

This year we are pleased to present the See Chicago Dance Legacy Award to Joan Gray, long-time executive director of Muntu Dance Theatre and a leader and mentor in our community for decades. We are equally excited to honor Ginger Lane with this year’s Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award in recognition of her groundbreaking artistry and advocacy, establishing Chicago as a city at the forefront of dance and disability.  Click here to read more about the honorees.

After two years of online and hybrid celebrations, we will return this year to our familiar format: a cocktail reception, seated dinner with awards presentation and, of course, performances. We are lucky that Ginger has a new piece to present, fresh off its premiere at the CounterBalance Festival in September. And we’ll close the evening with a rich, energizing performance by Muntu Dance Theatre, who have much to celebrate in 2022 as the company celebrates its 50th anniversary.


When:  Tuesday, October, 11, 2022, 5:30 – 8 pm

Where:  Venue West*, 221 N. Paulina (There is abundant free parking in the lot across the street.)

Cost:  Sponsor tables are available to purchase now. Sponsorships start at $2,500.

For more information about sponsorship or to purchase a table,
contact Julia Mayer at

Individual tickets will go on sale later this summer.

*Venue West is fully accessible. SCD will be providing ASL, CART captioning, audio description, and large print programs at the event. If you require other accommodations, please contact our Accessibility Coordinator, Surinder Martignetti,

Please mark your calendars now for what is sure to be one of the most fun, most uplifting events of the year.


Event Co-Chairs: Esther Grisham Grimm and Princess Mhoon

Host Committee (still in formation): Rachel Arfa, Pam Crutchfield, Turiya Gray, Sheilah Rae Gross, Michael McStraw, Brian Smith.

SCD Board of Directors: Amanda Banks (Secretary), Debra Bernstein-Siegel, Patti Eylar, Colleen Flanigan, Michael Foster, Ladonna Freidheim, Sarah Lombardi, Meghan McNamara (President), Jorge Perez (Vice President), Melissa Platt, Dawn Stanislaw (Treasurer), Shiwali Tenner, Sarah Venuti-Yates