Spirit of Music Garden Dance Lessons - 2018 Chicago SummerDance

Event Type
Workshop
Event Description

SUMMERDANCE AT SPIRIT OF MUSIC GARDEN
Thursdays through Saturdays with dance lesson 6 p.m. to 7 p.m., then music and dancing 7:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
Sundays the lesson is 4 p.m. to 5 p.m., dancing 5 p.m. to 7 p.m.


Thursday, June 28 - BRAZILIAN SAMBA / Swing Brasileiro (Samba) / Passistas Samba Dance Group (Samba, Axé, Samba-reggae)

Friday, June 29 - SWING / Joel Paterson and The Modern Sounds ('30s and '40s Swing) / Big City Swing (East Coast Swing)

Saturday, June 30 - SALSA / Son Veteranos (Salsa) / Dance Academy of Salsa (Salsa)

Sunday, July 1 - ARGENTINE TANGO / Duo Scofano-Minetti (Argentine Tango) / Tango 21 (Argentine Tango)

Thursday, July 5 - DABKE / Ahmed Hamad and Turath Ensemble present: Dabke is Life / Ahmed Hamad (Palestinian Traditional Dances)

Friday, July 6 - HOUSE (6 p.m. to 9 p.m.) / DJ Jesse de la Peña

Saturday, July 7 - SWING / The Fat Babies (‘20s and ‘30s Jazz and Swing) / Margot Toppen and Riley Wimes, Jr. (Jitterbug)

Sunday, July 8 - ARGENTINE TANGO / Mariano Barreriro Tango Duo (Argentine Tango) / Tango 21 (Argentine Tango)

Thursday, July 19 - AFROBEAT / Alma Afrobeat Ensemble (Afrobeat from Barcelona) / Idy Ciss (Traditional West African Dance)

Friday, July 20 - STEPPIN’ and KIZOMBA / DJ Eclipse (Steppin’ and Kizomba) / Black Diamond Elite Steppers (Steppin’ and Kizomba)

Saturday, July 21 - SALSA / Juan Pablo Díaz y su Orquesta (Salsa) / Latin Rhythms (Salsa)

Sunday, July 22 - ROMANIAN FOLK MUSIC and DANCES / Lorenzo Feraru and his Gypsy Band (Romanian Folk Music) / Ethnic Dance Chicago (Eastern European and Balkan Folk Dances)

Thursday, July 26 - AFRICAN HIGHLIFE and SOUKOUS / Occidental Brothers Dance Band Int'l (African Highlife, Soukous) / Kimosha P. Murphy (African Expressions)

Friday, July 27 - BLUES, WEST COAST SWING and HUSTLE / The Cash Box Kings (Chicago Blues) / May I Have This Dance (West Coast Swing and Hustle)

Saturday, July 28 - STEPPIN’ / DJ Mellow Khris (Chicago Steppin’) / Dawud and Lura Shareef (Chicago Steppin’)

Sunday, July 29 - SWING / Sons of Susan (Jazz, Blues, Swing, Western Swing and Hokum) / Kasper Dance Studio (Swing, Jive)

Thursday, August 9 - BOMBA / Bomba con Buya (Bomba) / Ivelisse Diaz with La Escuelita Bombera de Corazon (Bomba)

Friday, August 10 – HOUSE (6 p.m. to 9 p.m.) / Forever Monna

Saturday, August 11 - BACHATA / El Caobo Internacional (Bachata DJ Set) / Stephanie “La Lobita” Wolfson (Bachata)

Sunday, August 12 - COUNTRY / The Hoyle Brothers (Honky-Tonk Country) / Jeffrey Cannon (Country Two-Step)

Thursday, August 16 - WORLD MUSIC and BOLLYWOOD / Funkadesi (Bollywood, Bhangra, Reggae and Funk) / Bollywood Groove (Bollywood)

Friday, August 17 - CONTRA and SQUARE DANCE / Golden Horse Ranch Band (Country and Square Dance) / Annie Coleman (Square and Contra Dancing, Line Dancing, Polka, Waltz)

Saturday, August 18 - SALSA and MAMBO / Mannix Martinez: A Tribute to the Legends featuring Yvonne Curet and Jeffrey Martinez (Salsa) / Mixed Motion Art (Mambo)

Sunday, August 19 - BALLROOM / Teddy Lee Orchestra (Ballroom) / Fred Astaire Dance Studio - West Loop (Waltz, Bolero)

Thursday, August 23 - ARGENTINE TANGO / Redwood Tango Trio (Argentine Tango) / American Tango Institute (Argentine Tango)

Friday, August 24 - SALSA, MAMBO and CHA-CHA / Charanga Tropical (Salsa with Strings) / Arthur Murray Dance Center (Salsa)

Upcoming Dates

Aug 16, 6:00pm
Free
Aug 17, 6:00pm
Free
Aug 18, 6:00pm
Free
Aug 19, 4:00pm
Free
Aug 23, 6:00pm
Free
Aug 24, 6:00pm
Free

Location

Grant Park - Spirit of Music Garden

601 S. Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60605