2024 Gala

We are thrilled to invite you to See Chicago Dance’s 2024 Gala Community Celebration & Awards Presentation, a fundraiser to benefit the work of advocacy and service in the Chicago dance community!


On Tuesday, September 24, 2024, we will gather with 250 dance friends and artists to celebrate our dynamic community and honor two people who have made a sustained, outsized impact on all of us!

We will present  the See Chicago Dance Legacy Award to Jan Bartoszek, founder and artistic director of Hedwig Dances. Also being honored is Patti Eylar, dancer, teacher, and philanthropist with this year’s Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award.

In addition to these annual awards, SCD will also honor Carol Fox and Niki Morrison, the Founders of SeeChicagoDance (formerly Audience Architects). This year, they serve as the event’s Honorary Chairs.

Click here to learn more about our Honorees and Honorary Chairs.

We're excited to return this year to Venue West. In addition to being a community celebration, this gala event is See Chicago Dance’s annual fundraiser and includes a cocktail reception, a seated dinner with awards presentation, a tease of the new SeeChicagoDance.com website, and a performance by Hedwig Dances. More details on the evening’s program will be forthcoming.

Please mark your calendars now for what is sure to be one of the most fun and uplifting events of the year. We cannot wait to celebrate with you on September 24th!

Tickets for this event go on sale Monday, July 22, 2024.

Event Details:
When:   Tuesday, September 24, 2024, 5:30 – 8 pm
Where:  Venue West*, 221 N Paulina St. Chicago, IL 60612
Parking: There is abundant free parking in the venue's lot directly across the street.
Individual Tickets: $300
Sponsorships: Reserve your table for 10 now. Sponsorships start at $3,000. 
For more information about sponsorship or to purchase a table,
contact Julia Mayer.


*Venue West is fully accessible. SCD will be providing ASL, CART captioning, audio description, and large print programs at the event. If you require other accommodations, please contact our Membership & Operations Manager, Kennedy Ward.

Honorary Chairs: Carol Fox & Niki Morrison

Event Co-Chairs: Kay Burnett, Pamela Crutchfield, Winifred Haun, Kevin McGirr
Host Committee (still in formation): Robin Edwards, Carol Fox+, Judie Moore Green+, Roderick Hawkins, Meghan McNamara+, Michael McStraw+, Princess Mhoon, Niki Morrison+, Brian Smith+, and Linda Swayze

SCD Board of Directors: Jorge Perez (Board President), Amanda Banks (Board Vice President), Dawn Stanislaw (Treasurer), Marisa C. Santiago (Secretary), Debra Bernstein-Siegel, Michael Foster, Ladonna Freidheim, Erik Kaiko, Sarah Lombardi, Sarah Venuti Yates, Allyson Ratliff, Kia Smith

+Connotes past SCD Board President.

Previous Awardees:

The Legacy Award is awarded to an artistic leader who has enriched their community and made a significant and sustained impact on dance in Chicago.

The Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award is awarded to those that make vital contributions to the health and vibrancy of the Chicago Dance sector.



Homer Hans Bryant, Legacy Award

Ginger Farley, Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award



Joan Gray, Legacy Award

Ginger Lane, Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award



Hema Rajagopalan, Legacy Award

Randy Duncan, Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award



Joel Hall, Legacy Award

Gail Kalver, Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award



Lou Conte, Legacy Award

Amina Dickerson, Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award



Shirley Mordine, Legacy Award

Angelique Power, Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award



Dame Libby Komaiko, Legacy Award

Pamela Crutchfield, Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award



Richard H Driehaus, Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award



Sarah Solotaroff Mirkin, Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award

Header image by Arthur Wright


page updated 06/12/2024 @ 2:42 pm